Owls award state-ment performances

For The Tribune

The Seymour High School boys and girls swimming and diving teams celebrated successful seasons during Thursday night’s awards banquet.

The girls and boys teams finished with 12 wins and three losses. They also each finished third in the Hoosier Hills Conference and sectional meets and were represented in the state finals meet.

For the boys, the most valuable award recipients were senior Jon Montgomery and junior Noah Bullard.

[sc:text-divider text-divider-title=”Story continues below gallery” ]

Montgomery won the 50-yard freestyle at sectional to qualify for the state meet, and he finished with a team-high 220 points. Bullard placed second in the 100-yard breaststroke and 200-yard individual medley at sectional, and he finished the season with 214 points.

“The most valuable award is determined by points and votes,” Owls coach Dave Boggs said.

For the girls, it was a three-way tie. Senior Allison Hayes and sophomores Sarah Montgomery and Kenzie Persinger all shared the top honor.

The three, along with freshman Katie Turner, qualified for the girls state swim meet this year, setting the school record in the 200-yard freestyle relay at 1:41.14.

The most improved award went to junior Levi Pfaffenberger for the boys and freshman Ellen Stuckwisch for the girls.

“This award goes to the person who improves the most during the season from Day 1,” Boggs said.

The mental attitude award winners were sophomore Donovan Gabbard of the boys team and sophomore Grace Hartman of the girls squad.

“The mental attitude award goes to the person with the best attitude in competitions, practices, the weight room and school, etc.” Boggs said.

Receiving the 110 percent award were sophomore Steve Frohling for the boys and sophomore Nastya Yakovlyeva for the girls.

“This award goes to the hardest worker day in and day out throughout the season,” Boggs said.

Boggs also recognized three Academic All-Americans. They were seniors Lillie Hartman and Lauren Findley for the girls team and Montgomery for the boys team.