Deadline approaching for primary voter registration


Election Day is more than a month away, but if you’re planning to vote, the last day to register is April 6.

That means all voter registration applications must be received by the Jackson County clerk’s office in Brownstown or postmarked by that date to be approved in time for the May 5 Seymour primary election.

There are just three races featuring a total of eight Republican candidates on the ballot for the election. There are no Democratic Party races in the primary.

Absentee voting at the courthouse in Brownstown and the Jackson Superior Court I courthouse in Seymour will begin at 8 a.m. April 20 and continue through noon on May 4. Those two sites will be open 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. weekdays; and from 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. April 25 and May 2.

Applications from confined voters and voters who are out of the county are being accepted now.

The traveling board for confined voters will begin April 27 and will end 11:59 p.m. May 4. Applications for people requesting an absentee ballot must be received by the clerk’s office by 11:59 p.m. April 27.

Jackson County Clerk Amanda Lowery said the search for poll workers will begin this week and a public test of the voting equipment will be conducted April 15.

In Jackson County, there are roughly 29,000 voters, and Lowery said she doesn’t expect a huge turnout for the primary.

“Unfortunately, we don’t see a lot with municipal elections,” she said. She said in 2011, there was a 4 percent turnout.

She said she’s hoping, however, that the contested election for council seats for three of the districts will peak some interest and bring more people out to vote.

Those races feature political newcomers, Matt Nicholson, David L. Pollert and Kurt Newkirk competing for District 3 seat; Incumbent Jim Rebber facing a challenger from Philip Hardwick for the District 4 seat; and newcomers, Darrin R. Boas, Dovie Stidham and Kendra Zumhingst, running for the GOP’s nomination for the two at-large seats to be contested in the Nov. 3 general election.

Jackson County Commissioners recently gave the OK for the voting places in the city and they are as follows:

Jackson 1 East: Calvary Baptist Church, 1202 Ewing St., Seymour;

Jackson 2 East: First Church of the Nazarene, 311 Myers St., Seymour;

Jackson 2 West: First Church of the Nazarene, 311 Myers St., Seymour;

Jackson 3 North: American Legion Annex, 414 W. Second St., Seymour;

Jackson 3 South: Seymour Christian Church, 915 Kasting Road, Seymour;

Jackson 4 North: First Baptist Church, 505 Community Drive, Seymour;

Jackson 4 South: Zion Lutheran Church, 1501 Gaiser Drive, Seymour;

Jackson 5 East: American Legion Annex, 414 W. Second St., Seymour;

Jackson 5 North, First Baptist Church, 505 Community Drive, Seymour; and

Redding Seymour City: Calvary Baptist Church, 1202 Ewing St., Seymour.

Each voter must present a valid Indiana or U.S. government issued photo ID card before voting.

Information: 812-358-6120

[sc:pullout-title pullout-title=”At a glance” ][sc:pullout-text-begin]

To register to vote, send or deliver an application to the Jackson County Clerk’s office, 111 S. Main St., Brownstown, 47274; visit; or visit any Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles branch. Applications are available online at, or contact voter registration clerk at 812-358-6120.


No posts to display