Wrestling mats covered the floor of Seymour High School’s Lloyd E. Scott Gymnasium on Jan. 24 for the Seymour Slam Folkstyle Open wrestling tournament.

The Seymour Wrestling Club, which hosted the event, placed third in the large team division with several members taking home individual honors.

Chayston Petro received the outstanding wrestler award in his division and placed first. Brayden Rorick and Caleb Elliot also won their age divisions.

Winnings weren’t limited to first place, with Noah Chambers, Elijah Ratliff, Asher Ratliff, Mikia Combs, Sam Castetter and Donovan Nowling taking second place in their divisions, while Nic Frady took third place.

[sc:text-divider text-divider-title=”Story continues below gallery” ]

Team members Caleb Ahrmann, Sammy Chandler, Dane Botkin, Christian Cowles, Ben Kriete and D.J. Mink each placed fourth. Also, Gabe Baker and Liam Chandler placed fifth, and Gabe Chambers, Cole Brewer and Chase Vogel wound up sixth.

Others wrestling for Seymour that day were Orlando Arocena, Merrek Combs, Kaden Russell, Jonus Sandlin, Bryce Petro and Grant Smith.

Team-wise, Contenders Wrestling Academy of Plainfield took first in the large team division, Columbus East won the medium team division and Red Cobra Wrestling Academy of Avon claimed first in the small team division.

Overall, there were 202 registered wrestlers and 30 teams from four states — Indiana, Kentucky, Illinois and Tennessee. That included multiple state champions and state placers.

This was Seymour’s second time hosting a USA Wrestling tournament. Last year was a beginner’s tournament, while this year was an open tournament.

No posts to display