Newest filing sets up primary for city council District 4 seat


A Republican’s decision to run for a Seymour City Council seat has set up another primary race for the spring.

Political newcomer Philip “Phil” Hardwick said his decision to run against incumbent District 4 Republican James Rebber is based upon his desire to serve his community. Rebber is seeking a sixth term.

“I recently retired from the U.S. Army after serving my country for 27 years,” Hardwick said.

If elected, he said the office would allow him to continue his work of serving and protecting his community and country along with its ways of life.

Hardwick, who filed Monday morning, said even though he has lived in many places, Seymour has been his home since 1990.

The other race on the election ballot at this time is between three Republicans, one Democrat and one independent candidate for the two at-large council seats. They are Republicans Kendra Zumhingst, Dovie Stidham and Darrin Boas, incumbent Democrat Lloyd Hudson and independent Shawn Malone.

Last week, GOP precinct committee chairmen picked Boas 5-3 over Zumhingst to fill the at-large seat vacated by Jennifer Siefker when she moved to Washington state.

Incumbent District 5 Councilman Dave Earley also has officially filed for re-election. He is finishing up his first term in office and is the first independent candidate to serve on the council. He is running unopposed at this time.

At least two of the three incumbent Medora councilmen also plan to seek re-election this fall.

Republican Jim Davers will be seeking a fourth term, while Democrat Robert Thompson will be asking voters to return him to office for a second term.

Davers said he had been undecided about running again until recently.

“I had some people ask me if I was going to run again,” he said. “So I thought I would try it.”

He said he gets a lot of flack as a councilman from people of the community at times, but it comes with the job.

“I like it,” Davers said of serving on the council.

Those filings, along with one made by Democrat Robert D. “Bob” Lyttle for Crothersville Town Council and NaLona Deputy Bush for Crothersville clerk-treasurer are the only new filings received by the Jackson County Clerk’s Office in Brownstown. Bush served three terms as clerk-treasurer before being defeated by Republican Maria Fisher in 2012.

Three other candidates — Democrats Brenda Holzworth, Nancy Hopper and Geoffrey Walker — have filed declarations of candidacy for the five Crothersville at-large council seats up for election in November.

None of the incumbents, Ardell Mitchell, Butch Robinson or Derrick Minton, have filed declarations of candidacy.

Because none of the county’s three towns — Brownstown, Crothersville and Medora — will have a primary election this spring, candidates for seats in those communities have until August to file a declaration of candidacy. If more than one person from the same party seeks a seat, the party will have to hold a convention to elect its candidate for the Nov. 3 general election.

[sc:pullout-title pullout-title=”At a glance” ][sc:pullout-text-begin]

The filing period for the May 5 municipal primary for Seymour city races ends at noon Feb. 6.

Candidates for offices in Brownstown, Crothersville and Medora have until August to file.

To file a declaration of candidacy, visit the Jackson County Clerk’s Office at the courthouse in Brownstown. For information, call 812-358-6120.


No posts to display