Past grants discussed at trust fund meeting


Tribune staff reports

The Greater Seymour Trust Fund awarded grants totaling $217,438 and more than $266,000 in scholarships in the past year.

The figures were among several reports during the fund’s board of managers annual meeting Nov. 18.

The board consists of members of the community and the president and trust officers of JCB. Current board managers are chairman Robert VonDielingen; secretary, Jan Warren; Max W. Ernest; the Rev. Ralph Blomenberg; Brett Hays, president of Seymour Jaycees; Mayor Craig Luedeman; David M. Geis, president and CEO of JCB; George F. Spray, vice president and trust officer with the JCB; and Brandon L. Hunsley, assistant vice president and trust officer with JCB.

Hunsley reported the fund has awarded more than $4,750,735 since it was established in 1969 by the late E. S. Welch to serve the cultural, scientific, religious, literary and educational needs of the community.

The trust receives funds from the public as gifts or bequests to be held by the trustee, JCB.

Hunsley reported 2,464 scholarships, totaling $3,651,501, have been granted since the inception of the fund and $1,099,234 in grants have been distributed.

Grants totaling $217,438 were awarded throughout this year. They were granted to The Ada Jenkins Center $2,860; Aging & Community Services $1,750; American Cancer Society $4,500; Anchor House $4,020; Brebeuf Jesuit Preparatory School $25,000; Big Brothers Big Sisters $2,000; Boys and Girls Club of Seymour $1,800; Child Care Network $450; Children’s Museum of Indianapolis $7,000; Community Provisions $2,980; Community School of Davidson $10,000; Columbus Park Foundation $10,000; and CRC Inc. GDI $1,500; Also, Davidson United Methodist Church $25,000; DSI $4,500; Fair Haven Foundation $500; Friends of Holliday Park $5,000; Girls, Inc. $1,500; HSI Head Start $1,600; Humane Society of Jackson County $15,000; Indiana University Foundation $750; Jackson County Human Services $2,000; Jackson County United Way $1,500; Lutheran Community Home $1,500; Matthew 25 Street Ministries $1,000; Peace Lutheran Church $8,000; READ Jackson County $800; Reins to Recovery $805; Seymour Christian Academy $1,300; Seymour Main Street $1,900; St. Ambrose School $1,520; St. Christopher’s Episcopal Church $5,000; Tindley Accelerated Schools $50,000; Town of Davidson $2,628; Trinity Lutheran High School $2,000; Trinity United Methodist Church, Indianapolis $500; Turning Point $775; ZOE $1,000; and Schneck Medical Center $7,500.

The 108 scholarships distributed during the 2013-14 school year totaled $266,572.

There are 38 individual funds within the Greater Seymour Trust Fund. The fund continues to receive support from the community.

The board allocates the money from the funds for a wide range of public purposes. Low administrative cost of 0.85 percent allowed the board to allocate $484,010 in distributions for the year, which end June 30.

Contributions to the trust qualify as charitable contributions, which can result in income tax and estate savings.

[sc:pullout-title pullout-title=”On the Web” ][sc:pullout-text-begin]

For information about the trust fund visit or contact Brandon Hunsley in the Trust Department of JCB at 812-522-3607.


No posts to display