Seymour boys soccer hosts annual banquet

The Seymour boys soccer team held its annual banquet and awards ceremony on Thursday at Seymour High School.

The team celebrated an 8-6-2 season, including a 4-2 mark in the Hoosier Hills Conference.

The Owls held their own in a tough conference and schedule.

Coach Matt Dennis spoke about the season for the Seymour boys soccer team.

“They put in a lot of work over the season,” he said. “Our goal was to win the conference. We weren’t able to do that, but we competed in a tough conference during the season. I’m excited about the direction we are heading with this program.”

Seymour dropped its sectional matchup with Floyd Central 3-0 at Jeffersonville High School.

Dennis spoke about the positives of the winning campaign.

“It was a good season. I thought our defensive play all year was good,” he said. “I thought we needed to score more goals, but we got timely goals when we needed them. We had four one-goal victories. We were able to put it together with good defense. Our schedule was challenging, and we had two ties with quality opponents. A lot of success this year, in my opinion.”

Jaret Dominguez, Jordan Ritter, Felipe Sebastian, Cooper Murphy, David Polbito, Martin Sebastian and Logan Westfall ended their high school soccer careers. Dennis spoke about his senior players at the banquet.

“We’re going to miss Logan’s voice on the field. David has been a goal scorer for us over the past few years,” Dennis said. “Martin and Felipe are relatively new players, but they were valuable in their two seasons. Jordan, Cooper and Jaret were steady for us this season.

“They came up through the program and were contributors for many years,” he added. “They played a lot of minutes for us. Having to learn a new system this season speaks to their willingness to adapt. We’re going to miss them. We have a good team coming back, but you always miss the seniors when they leave.”

The Owls also had numerous players selected to Hoosier Hills Conference teams.

Myles Chandler, Lance Hubbard, Jake Loebker, Martin Sebastian, David Polbito and Evan Unterseher were all selected to their respected conference team.

Seymour will now focus on the 2024 season.



Team MVP: Jake Loebker

Most Improved: Martin Sebastian

Team Player: Martin Sebastian

Attacker of the Year: David Polbito

Midfielder of the Year: Evan Unterseher

Defender of the Year: Jake Loebker

Coach’s Award: Donovan Delgadillo


Team MVP: Liam Chandler

Most Improved: Danny Sebastian