Brownstown hosts annual boys tennis banquet

BROWNSTOWN — The Braves hosted their annual boys tennis banquet and award ceremony on Tuesday in the Brownstown Central High School cafeteria.

Brownstown had a solid season, posting a 12-7 team record and a 5-3 mark in the Mid-Southern Conference. The boys finished the season in fourth place in the conference.

Braves head coach Donnie Thomas spoke about the season for the team.

“I thought we had a good season. All of our juniors have been here since the beginning, getting better every single year,” he said.

Brownstown also won the Scottsburg Invitational for only the third time in team history and the first since 2011. They also claimed victory in the Brown County Invitational. Their season ended in the sectional final to Seymour.

“We thought we had a good chance at the sectional title, and we almost had it,” Thomas said. “I think some things didn’t go our way, and we kind of let it slip away from us. But I think next season, we have a really good shot to get it done.”

It was a historic season for a few individual players. Pierson Wheeler set the school record with 23 individual wins in a season, while Lane Steward tied the record with 22 of his own victories.

Wheeler also had a 39-match winning streak dating back to last season through the regular season. Wheeler finished 23-1 with Steward ending 22-2.

Thomas spoke about both historic individual seasons for his team.

“Pierson had an amazing stretch and a crazy season for us,” he said. “Lane was also a staple in our lineup, playing doubles a few times. He could also have tied the record if he had another opportunity. They are both amazing to coach. I could not be more proud of them for how they have grown as players.”

An unusual thing to see is the loss of zero seniors. That’s what Thomas is dealing with this season.

“We don’t lose anyone, which is honestly kind of crazy for me,” he said. “I can’t complain, though. I’m excited to see us move into next season.”


MVP: Pierson Wheeler

JV most improved: Jaron Bryant

Mental attitude award: Caysen Robertson

Varsity letters

Smith Hackman

Evan Schneider

Lane Steward

Pierson Wheeler

Max Peters

Chase Brock

JV players

Jace Reaser, Sam Rohr, Caysen Robertson, Carson Ferguson, Trey Isaacs, Jaron Bryant