Seymour school board reorganizes for 2022

The Seymour Community School Corp. board of education recently reorganized for the year.

The board voted to retain its current officers for another year. They are Art Juergens as president, Nancy Franke as vice president and Ken Browning as secretary.

Franke, who has been a board member since 2010, said during the board’s meeting Tuesday night that she absolutely enjoys the opportunity to serve the community as a trustee.

“I went into this at the time because I was a parochial school educator and had children in the schools,” Franke said. “My only agenda was to be an agent for change that impacted the overall educational environment in a positive direction.”

She said there are so many laws and regulations set by the state and federal government that make for some real challenges when it comes to creating policies and making decisions for the children and schools.

“What seems like a common-sense solution isn’t always the case when a board member and the administration staff need to also follow laws created by legislation,” Franke said. “Even with those frustrations, I truly appreciate my time on the board. What is important to remember is that the decisions made are a reflection of what is best for the entire school community.”

She said the board always needs to look at the bigger picture because those policies do not impact just one child. In addition, as a school corporation that exists for the community as a whole, many decisions impact the community’s economy.

“Community schools and our local economy go hand in hand. If you compare our Seymour community to many others across the state, you will find that we have a strong school and a strong economy right here in the heart of Jackson County,” Franke said. “It just demonstrates how our community works so well together.”

Also during the meeting, the following trustees were appointed to committees:

Indiana School Boards Association legislative liaison — Franke

ISBA policy liaison — Browning

Board of finance — Juergens, Franke and Browning

Board development and training — Joe Tormoehlen

School farm and vocational advisory board — Max Klosterman

School athletic council — John Kelley

School corporation transportation — Browning and Kelley

Public and community relations — Tormoehlen and Franke

Seymour Parks and Recreation Board — Juergens

Seymour Redevelopment Commission — Joray

Other corporation appointments include:

Corporation treasurer — Steve Nauman

Deputy treasurer — Patty Mullis

Attorneys — Susan Sparks with Montgomery, Elsner and Pardieck LLP; Susan Bevers with Lorenzo, Bevers, Braman and Connell; and Michelle Cooper and Susan Traynor with Lewis and Kappes

Corporation physician for workers compensation — Family Medical Center in Seymour

Representative to C4 Columbus Area Career Connection — Brandon Harpe

Board members reviewed and approved to maintain their annual compensation at $2,000 and to continue meeting at 7 p.m. on the second Tuesday of the month.