House District 62 candidates make campaign announcements

Two candidates running to become Indiana House District 62’s representative, one Republican and one Democrat, made campaign announcements Tuesday to mark the start of the election season.

Jackson County Councilman Dave Hall announced his intent to run for state representative in October. On Tuesday, he made that decision official by traveling to the Statehouse in Indianapolis to file a declaration of candidacy for the May 3 primary.

“I am looking forward to serving my fellow Hoosiers in this beautiful portion of southern Indiana where I was born and raised and have proudly chosen to raise my family,” Hall said in a news release.

Hall, a Republican who lives in Norman, is the owner of Dave Hall Crop Insurance.

“I understand that every single nickel in the state’s budget comes from hardworking Hoosier taxpayers,” he said. “That is something I have not and will not take for granted once in the Statehouse. To be good stewards of taxpayer money, we need a state government that functions as efficiently as possible while minimizing the burden put on working Hoosier families.”

In a news release, Hall said he is pro-life and a supporter of the Second Amendment and believes in providing stronger protections for election security.

“I wholeheartedly believe we should protect innocent life, honor the Second Amendment as written and be able to trust the results of our elections,” he said.

After redistricting last year, House District 62 will include Salt Creek, Owen and Pershing townships in the western part of Jackson County starting in 2023. The district also will include all of Brown County and a portion of Monroe County.

Monroe County Sheriff Brad Swain also recently announced his candidacy for the District 62 in a news release.

“My past seven years as sheriff and long record of accomplishments during my career make me the candidate to impact actions within the House,” he said. “I will work hard as always and will take the concerns of my constituents to the Statehouse. I welcome the opportunity to continue faithfully to serve my fellow Hoosiers.”

Swain currently is in his second term as sheriff and has worked for the Monroe County Sheriff’s Department for 36 years.

“As sheriff, I have been involved with the activities of the Indiana legislature on a near-constant basis,” he said. “Changes in laws occur regularly, and funding for jails and enforcement is important to ensure the best services for county residents. I’m active in the Indiana Sheriffs’ Association, which recently was involved in the passage of a commonsense approach to improving the professional level of policing statewide.”

While Swain is a Democrat, he said in his news release that he also wants to work with Republican legislators.

“Sheriffs have a tremendous reputation with the legislature as problem solvers for many community challenges where their roles can have influence,” he said. “With the credibility of the office, my career experience and many leadership roles in community service, I will provide expert guidance and be heard when I communicate with other members of the House. I believe I am the most qualified Democrat to work with the caucus, especially considering an ongoing ability to reach across the aisle.”

The current representative for District 62 is Jeff Ellington, a Bloomington Republican who is running to be an Indiana House representative for District 45 because of redistricting.

Incumbent state House District 69 Rep. Jim Lucas, R-Seymour, along with incumbent House District 65 Rep. Chris May, R-Bedford, also filed declarations of candidacy at the Statehouse on Tuesday. Lucas was first elected to the House in 2012, while May was first elected to the House in 2016.

District 69 includes most of Jackson County and portions of Bartholomew, Scott and Washington counties, while District 65 includes just Carr Township in Jackson County, all of Lawrence County and portions of Orange and Washington counties.

Also Tuesday, incumbent Jackson County Prosecutor Jeff Chalfant, a Seymour Republican, made the trip to the Statehouse to file a declaration of candidacy for his second four-year term along with Jackson Superior Court II Judge Bruce MacTavish, who is seeking re-election to a six-year term. MacTavish, also a Republican from the Seymour area, is the only judge to have sat on the bench of Jackson Superior Court II, which was established Jan. 1, 2008.