Cain continues winning ways at Brownstown Speedway


It was fan appreciation night Sept. 2 at Brownstown Speedway, where fans got to meet the drivers during intermission.

It is always a popular racing night during the year for both fans and drivers. There were more than 140 racing entries on hand for the event.

Tyler Cain of Seymour in P3 Graphix ILMS Pro Late Models jumped to the early feature lead with heavy pressure from Chad Stapleton. Stapleton ran off the racing surface and dropped back several spots. Cain maintained his lead over the rest of the field and went on to record his second feature win out of the last three races. Marty O’Neal, Rohn Moon, Dakota Kibel and Alan Magner finished in the top five.

In Pewter Hall Super Stocks, Branden Carr of Scottsburg picked up win No. 4 for the year. He led from the drop of the green and finished ahead of Tucker Chastain, Greg Amick, Sheldon Oberle and Matt Boknecht.

Josh Turner jumped to the early lead in All in One Pool Pure Stocks with Brent McMillan stalking. McMillan from North Vernon made his move for the lead with five laps to go as he went on to score the feature win ahead of Blake Hull, Turner, Sheldon Oberle and Josh Hayes.

Michael Cranmer of Jeffersonville led flag to flag in Flag 2 Flag Media Crown Vic feature action. He is the fourth different Cranmer to visit victory lane for 2023. He was followed by Dustin Cross, Brandon Cranmer, Matt Weston and Ryan Woods.

In Haymaker Customs Hornet feature action, Michael Brewer, Bryce Burton, Jeremy Shemwell battled early in the event. Brewer of North Vernon stretched out his lead over Burton and Shemwell to get his third win of 2023. He and Shemwell continued to do battle as Burton edged out Shemwell for second, followed by Curtis Roccia and Landon Hayes.

Crate Late Model feature results: Tyler Cain, Marty O’Neal, Rohn Moon, Dakota Kibel, Alan Magner, Robert Rainey, Derek Groomer, Patrick Shumaker, Jug Wethington, Britan Godsey, Conner Mertens, Derrick Huber, Caleb Faulkner, Chad Stapleton, James Huff, Nolan Wells, Brad Erwin, Caleb Schryer, Mark Bechelli, Justin Shaw

Super Stock feature results: Branden Carr, Tucker Chastain, Greg Amick, Sheldon Oberle, Matt Boknecht, Tanner Chastain, Jack Roberts, Zach Sasser, J.T. Huffman, Steve Hollars, Trey Chastain, Colton Sullivan, Shayne Wilson, Blake Hull, Danny Hupp, Isaiah Sasser, Ross Smith, Dalton Fleenor, Rick Gumm, Chris Batchelor

Pure Stock feature results: Brent McMillan, Blake Hull, Josh Turner, Sheldon Oberle, Josh Hayes, Justin Walters, Dusten Carr, Dalton Roark, Edgar Godsey, Donnie Wilson, Buddy Stearns, Kevin Bloom, Brian Sims, Mickey Hines, Jerry Adams, Tommy Fleenor, Tim Bailey, William Burton, Jacob Owens, Preston Carr

Crown Vic feature results: Michael Cranmer, Dustin Cross, Brandon Cranmer, Matt Weston, Ryan Woods, Jeff Cranmer, Eric Lewis, Phillip Boudreaux, Blake Daniels, Chad Reed, Nathan Lewis, Stacie Fitzgerald, Elizabeth Finley, Chris Hawn, Josh Spence, Cordell Moore, Darrell Basham, Kenny Humphrey, Jason Basham, Jason Cranmer

Hornet feature results: Michael Brewer, Bryce Burton, Jeremy Shemwell, Curtis Roccia, Landon Hayes, Brandon Crockett, Matt Miller, Jeremy Ogle, Cody Chambers, James Simmons, Shane Reed, Josh Hallett, Brett Barger, Scott Smith, Chase Hatton, Logan Garner, Marshall Claycamp, Preston Righthouse, Brian Pollitt, Phillip Fields-DNS

Rice wins at Circle City

Josh Rice won the C.J. Rayburn Tribute Race on Sept. 1 at Circle City Raceway in Indianapolis. Christian Hanger was second, followed by Kent Robinson, Chad Stapleton and Dustin Linville. Completing the top 10 were Greg Johnson, James Rice, Brandon Carpenter, Trevor Landrum and Spencer Hughes.

Bilbee wins at Lawrenceburg

Nick Bilbee won the sprint car feature on Sept. 2 at Lawrenceburg Speedway. Joss Moffatt of Columbus was second, followed by Sterling Cling, Garrett Abrams and Travis Hery.

Matt Hamilton won the modified feature over Anthony Chaney, David Spille, David Cook and Jay Greene. Joe Andrews won the pure stock feature, and Alex West took the hornet feature race.

Stockon wins at Bloomington

Chase Stockon of Fort Branch won the sprint car feature on Sept. 1 at Bloomington Speedway. Robeert Ballou was second, followed by Geoff Ensign, Daison Pursley and Chance Crum.

Logan Mounce from Mitchell took the modified feature over Caleb DeMoss, John DeMoss, Tyler Loughmiller and Jacoby Hines. Derek Groomer of Bloomington won the super stock feature over Zach Sasser, Tucker Chastain, Hayden Groomer and Isaiah Sasser. Bryan Brewer of Vallonia won the lightning sprint feature over Elijah Knoke, Hunter Wilson, Mike Larrison and Staney Kreisel.

Rogers doubles up at Paragon

Jadon Rogers of Worthington won both the Sept. 1 and 2 sprint car features at Paragon Speedway. On Friday night, Rogers outran Ricky Lewis, Kyle Shipley, Sterling Cling and Matthew McDonald for the win. On Saturday, he won over Jordan Kinser, Jake Scott, Cody Trammell and Shipley. Other winners at Paragon last weekend were Zach Daum and Jade Avedisian (Xtreme Outlaw Midgets), Alex Wilson (hornets) and Jason Trader (bombers).

This week in racing history

From 70 years ago in 1953 at Columbus Speedway, the track hosted a Friday and Sunday racing program. On Friday, Gerald Hoppock won the stock car feature over Al Perry, Dick Gaines and Jim Quillen. On Sunday, Tandy Holcomb won the feature race over Hoppock, Gene Minor, Gene Rutherford and Quillen.

From 60 years ago in 1963 at Brownstown Speedway, Paul Crockett won the stock car feature race. Also in 1963, at Bloomington, Roy Robbins won the super modified feature race over Ross Smith, Mike Johnson, Bob Kinser and Gordon Johncock. Bob Long won the stock car feature over Johnny Krebbs, Mack Pace and Chet Harrell.

From 50 years ago this weekend in 1973 at Brownstown, Jim Curry won the season finale over Ray Godsey and Ira Bastin.

From 1973 at Twin Cities, Johnny Robbins won the feature race over Dee Kramer, Jim Raymer, Chuck Gilpin and Earnie Brison.

Also in 1973, at Lawrenceburg, Dick Gaines won the sprint car feature over Tony Solomito, Allen Barr, Leon Thickstun and Johnny Krebbs. Pierce Foster won the stock car feature.

From 40 years ago in 1983 at Lawrenceburg, Lee Osborne won the All-Star Circuit of Champions Sprint Car feature over Greg Staab, Kelly Kinser, Kerry Norris and Marvin Deputy.

In 1983 at Eldora Speedway, Jeff Purvis won the World 100 over Pat Patrick, Jack Boggs, Freddy Smith and Donnie Moran.

From 30 years ago in 1993 at Bloomington, Kevin Thomas won the Sheldon Kinser Memorial for sprint cars over Robbie Stanley, Dave Darland, Tony Elliott and Eric Gordon. Scott Patman won the street stock feature over Joe Lucas, Denny Campbell, Darren Davis and Terry Arthur.

In 1993 at Martin County Speedway in Loogootee, Denny Campbell won the street stock feature over Cale Kern, Lee Hobbs, Greg Kendall and Perry Bruce. Curtis Knieriem and Dale Hobbs won the bomber features.

In 1993 at Eldora, Billy Moyer won the World 100 over Scott Bloomquist, Freddy Smith, Ronnie Johnson and Pete Parker.

From 20 years ago in 2003 at Brownstown, Steven Godsey won the bomber special over Matt Cummings, Robert Walters, Matt Bex and Joe Godsey. Terry Goff won the UMRA Midget feature over Oogie Goff, Robert Nichols, A.J. Nigh and Derek Franks.

In 1993 at Eldora, Dan Schlieper won the World 100 over Scott Bloomquist, Dale McDowell, Brian Birkhofer and Steve Shaver.

Upcoming local racing schedule

Today – Brownstown, Lawrenceburg, Circle City and Paragon are all idle.

Today – Eldora Speedway – Rossburg, Ohio – 53rd annual World 100 for late models. For information, visit

No posts to display