Seymour’s Robinson makes IFCA South All-Star team

Seymour offensive lineman Cory Robinson received good news on Monday when he was selected to participate in the Murat Shrine North/South All-Star Football Classic.

Robinson was a team captain for the Owls last fall when they went 6-4 and claimed a share of the Hoosier Hills Conference title for the first time since 2001.

Robinson was one of seven offensive linemen to make the South All-Star team. The Seymour senior joins Ty Mead (Avon), Andrew Dumas (Lawrence Central), Isaac Fischer (Bishop Chatard), Trenton Allen (Lawrence North), Hunter Smith (Bloomington South), Zach Yarayan (Whiteland) and Jake Pierce (Lawrenceburg).

There are 46 players on each team, and Robinson is a representative of Region 10.

The Indiana Football Coaches Association splits up its postseason honors into 10 regions, and Robinson, Josh Rennekamp and Evan Smith were the three Owls who were selected into Region 10.

The IFCA then takes all of those players on the region teams and selects certain players for the All-Star game.

It’s a hard feat to obtain, so Seymour head coach Tyson Moore is proud Robinson was able to earn his way onto it.

Moore also will be one of the coaches for the South All-Star team. He will coach alongside his dad, Eric Moore, from Center Grove, Andy Olson (Monrovia), Mark Gennicks (Linton-Stockton), Eric Quintana (Roncalli), Kurt Freytag (Cathedral), Trent Taylor (Greenfield Central), Bret Szabo (Tecumseh), Hank Wheeler (Tecumseh) and Kenny Higgins (South Dearborn).

“Another outstanding achievement in this young man’s athletic career,” Moore said of Robinson. “He will represent Region 10 and Seymour High School tremendously. I am looking forward to coaching him one final time.”

The North/South All-Star game will take place this summer on July 14 at Decatur Central High School at 7 p.m. In the week leading up to it, the players will move into the dorms and practice Tuesday through Thursday that week at the University of Indianapolis.