SHS band members compete in state solo and ensemble contest

The Seymour High School band state qualifiers participated in the Indiana State School Music Association State Solo and Ensemble Contest on Feb. 25 at North Central High School in Indianapolis.

Earning a gold nedal with distinction were soloists Anthony Benitez, tenor saxophone; Bryce Peters, Olivia Fowler, Keegan Jared and Dillan Cooper, trumpet quartet; and Samantha Fried, Savannah Easterday, Axel Arrona, Ty Stuckwisch and Brianna Gomez, percussion ensemble. The percussion ensemble earned a perfect score.

Other soloists earning gold medals were Makenna Greenawalt, oboe; Hannah Whitehead, clarinet; Abram Yee, marimba; Aria Massengale, trombone; Lucas Jablonski, French horn; Maria Ruiz, oboe; Daniela Rodriguez, clarinet; Jordan Stevens, tuba; and Joey Larison, alto saxophone.

One ensemble earned a gold medal. That was the Newkirk clarinet ensemble of Audrey Newkirk, Ava Sunbury, Avery Linville and Aneesha Linville.

Students earning silver medals were Liza Stuckwisch, flute; Erika Corya, clarinet; Kaden Greathouse, alto saxophone; and Olivia Fowler, trumpet.

Ensembles earning a silver medal were Bryce Peters, Ben Marks, Aubri Engle, Katie Cottrill and Jordan Stevens, Marks brass quintet; and Erika Corya, Samantha Carter, Ismael Santiago and Daniela Rodriguez, Corya clarinet quartet.

The Seymour High School bands are under the direction of Kevin Cottrill, Tim Johnston and Debbie Carroll.