Thumbs up for Feb. 17

Semistate bound

Thumbs up to Trinity Lutheran High School’s girls basketball team, who gave the Cougars their first regional trophy by defeating Springs Valley 71-43 on Saturday in the Class A West Washington Regional. The regional roster for the 22-6 Cougars featured senior Bailey Tabeling; juniors Morgan Brewer, Liza Froedge and Dianna Munoz; sophomores Jordan Brewer, Madison Keith and Laura Roeder; and freshmen Maddie Adams and Marci Leinart. Trinity takes on 25-2 Lanesville at noon Saturday in the second game of the New Albany Semistate.

Job well done

Thumbs up to the Jackson County Probation Department and Director Aaron Louden for a job well done. They recently helped me obtain information from my records from years ago.

Richard Parkison, Indianapolis

Hornets of the Month

Thumbs up to the Medora R.E.D. Hornets of the Month for January who were recognized during a Medora Community School Corp. board of school trustees meeting Monday in the media center at the school. They are junior Brooklynn Wilkerson, eighth-grader Zachariah Day and senior Jayden Brown. The program recognizes students who demonstrate responsibility, empathy and determination.

Braves of the Month

Thumbs up to the Brownstown Central Community School Corp. Students of the Month who were recognized during Monday’s board of school trustees meeting at the middle school. They are eighth-grader Claire Young, sophomore Chloe Wagner and fourth-grader, Kylee Haynes.

Gold medalists

Thumbs up to the Seymour Middle School band students who earned gold medals at the Indiana State School Music Association Solo and Ensemble Competition on Feb. 4 in Columbus. They were seventh-graders Kyle Sinkhorn, Anniston Rennekamp, Rilee Gootee, Elijah Schrink, Kayli Lopez, Jazzlyn Cravens, Katelyn York, Betsy Bruce, Max Reinhart, Gabby Cornn, Katelynn Woods, Aiden Ault, Alexa Prieto, Chase Carter, Aubri Clark, Kenna Bohle, Kylie Keyes, Conner Schafer, Michael LaSpina and Dhamara Aguilar and eighth-graders Noemi Sebastian, Jared Martinez Salas, Megan Stout, Collin Patterson, Olivia Wilp, Mia Arrona, Eli Reasoner, Kayla Martinez, Jackson Charlton, Macey Moss, Hana Miyagawa, Vivi Newkirk, Garrison Redlin, Ryan Goss, George Walls, Isaac Ramirez, Patty Todd, Oliver Lanam, Ashton Canaday, Elijah Gonzalez and Colton Gabbard.