Election filing period ends at noon Friday

The filing period for the May 2 Seymour primary election will come to an end at noon Friday.

A check with the clerk’s office at the Jackson County Judicial Center in Brownstown at midday Wednesday revealed there had been just one new declaration of candidacy filing in recent days. That filing involved Democrat Tonya Pacey, who is seeking that party’s nomination for one of the two at-large Seymour City Council seats in the Nov. 7 election.

That means barring any last-minute filings that the primary ballot will likely contain just two races on the Republican side and none on the Democratic side.

The biggest race on the ballot will pit Mayor Matt Nicholson, who is completing his first four-year term, against political newcomer Dan Robison, who is the director of the Jackson County Chamber of Commerce.

The other race features incumbent Chad Hubbard, who also will wrap up his first four-year term on Dec. 31, facing a challenge from Marcus Sewell for the District 3 city council seat. Sewell ran as an independent for the council District 3 seat in the general election in 2018 but lost to Hubbard, who is running for a second four-year term.

Other Republicans seeking reelection to four-year terms are Clerk-Treasurer Darrin Boas, District 1 Councilman Matthew Wheeler, District 2 Councilman Jerry Hackney, District 4 Councilman Seth Davidson and At-Large Councilman Drew Storey. No candidate has filed for the second at-large council seat presently held by Bret Cunningham.

Seymour Fire Chief Brad Lucas, who plans to retire at the end of the year, also has filed a declaration of candidacy for the council District 5 seat. That move came after Dave Earley, an independent, announced his decision to not pursue a fourth term.

For information about filing a declaration, contact the voter registration office at 812-358-6120.

The deadline to register to vote is 4:30 p.m. April 3, while the first day a person can early vote is April 4. To register, visit the county clerk’s office at the Jackson County Judicial Center, 109 S. Sugar St., Brownstown, or visit indianavoters.in.gov.