Sauers E on 20-game winning streak

The steamroller continues to roll as Sauers E extended its winning streak to 20 games, sweeping Dudleytown N 7-5, 9-8 and 10-8.

Dudleytown put up a good fight but couldn’t get over the hump in Week 10 of the Lutheran Dartball League.

White Creek N remained in second place, although it did lose a game to the Dudleytown Mets. There were four extra inning games on Monday. Hayden beat Sauers B 3-2 in 10 innings, Immanuel 1 beat Immanuel Darty 5-4 in 10 innings and the Pastors (who were short-handed on Monday) lost all three games to Brownstown 4 5-4 in 11 innings, 8-4 in 10 innings and 3-1.

In a battle of two of the bottom teams, Jonesville swept Zion 2 8-1, 2-1, and 4-0.

Correction: Last week, it was reported that Redeemer N won all three games from Immanuel Darty. The scores were reversed: Darty won all three games 2-1, 6-1 and 3-1.

From dartball history: The league has always held a single-elimination tourney at the end of the schedule. On March 20, 1953, chairman Schepman called a meeting of captains to discuss the possibility of having a tournament for the five teams in the league. It was decided to hold the first tourney at Redeemer with a supper. All men were to bring a covered dish, and Redeemer Men’s Club would furnish the meat and drinks. Sauers Men’s Club won the first tourney.

The next three years, the tournament was held at Brownstown, Immanuel and Sauers with meat and drinks furnished by the league. Jonesville won the tourney at Brownstown, and Dudleytown N won at Immanuel and Sauers.

Due to the growth of the league, the captains voted in 1957 to hold the tourney at the Seymour girls gym. Their first thought was to have the teams not playing in the first round to go to the Redeemer annex for supper and return to play in the second round. The teams that played in the first round would then go to Redeemer to eat. After more discussion, that plan was dropped, and it was decided the league would furnish pop and candy. Brownstown 3 won the tourney at the girls gym.

The year 1958 brought an invitation to play the tourney at the Pearl Street Gym in Columbus. The Columbus teams would be host and furnish pop and candy with sandwiches available to be purchased. This was the only tourney held in Columbus and was won by Dudleytown N, its third in four years.

The following year, the league had grown to 25 teams. The captains decided to move the tournament to the Seymour National Guard Armory. This facility would provide more space (80-by-120 feet) with plenty of chairs and ample parking. This first tournament at the armory was won by Immanuel 1.

In 1991, the tournament was moved to Immanuel Lutheran School. The cafeteria provided plenty of space for the players to eat and play cards, while the bleachers in the gym allowed the men not playing to sit and watch several boards at one time. The first tournament held at Immanuel was won by Zion.

The tournament remained at Immanuel until 2022 when it was moved to the current location in the Sauers gym. Redeemer S was the victor at Sauers last year with Sauers B as runner-up.