Kirk Manns included in star-studded Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame class

On Tuesday morning, the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame announced its 61st men’s induction class.

There are 18 inductees, and current Seymour High School boys basketball head coach Kirk Manns is one of them.

Manns is a 1986 graduate of North Judson High School. He earned four letters in basketball, baseball and football.

As a senior basketball player, Manns averaged 34.2 points per game, 9.4 rebounds per game, and 4.1 assists per game on the Blue Jays team that went 18-6. He was All-State in both basketball and football, scoring 1,962 career points. He was an Indiana All-Star and runner-up for Mr. Basketball, along with being named to the 2011 Silver Anniversary Team.

After graduating, Manns went on to play basketball at Michigan State University, where he scored 1,212 career points, making eight 3-point field goals twice in a game, and scored a career-high of 40 points in a win over Purdue.

As a senior with the Spartans, he was named the Most Improved Player as he helped the green and white to a Big Ten title and a Sweet Sixteen appearance. After graduating from Michigan State in 1991, Manns was an assistant coach at Western Michigan before becoming a high school principal and athletic director.

In addition to being the boys basketball coach head, Manns is currently the athletic director at Seymour.

In four seasons at the helm for the Owls, Manns has an overall record of 33-36. Last season, Manns was named the IBCA District 3 Coach of the Year after guiding Seymour to a 15-7 season that included a runner-up finish in the Hoosier Hills Conference. It was the Owls’ first winning season in 15 years.

The 17 other inductees for the 2023 Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame class, with their high school and graduation year, include the following: James Blackmon Sr. (Marion, 1983), Richard Butt (Huntington, 1954), Henry Chapman (Fort Wayne Northside, 1955), John DeVoe (Park School, 1952), Henry Ebershoff (Lafayette Central Catholic, 1963), Brian Evans (Terre Haute South, 1991), Oscar Evans (Shortridge, 1968), Darrin Fitzgerald (Indianapolis Washington, 1983), Dennis Goins (Rushville, 1979), Ken Gunning (Shelbyville, 1933), Jack Hogan (Broad Ripple, 1963), Eric Montross (Lawrence North, 1990), Drake Morris (East Chicago Washington, 1977), Jim Oler (Economy, 1952), Phil Snodgress (Kennard, 1954), Brad Stevens (Zionsville, 1995) and Mike Lightfoot (LaVille, 1974).

The Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame’s 61st Men’s Awards Banquet is planned for March 22, 2023. The day’s events will include a reception at the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame museum in New Castle that afternoon with a banquet that evening at Primo Banquet Hall in Indianapolis.

Reservations will soon be available online or through mail order in early 2023. Call 765-529-1891, visit or email [email protected] for information.

Seymour head coach Kirk Manns (center) huddles with his team during a third-quarter timeout during an Owls victory last season. Manns will be inducted into the 2023 Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame.

Jennifer Regruth | For The Tribune