Jennings County names go-kart track champions

The Jennings County Kart Track in North Vernon has announced its champions for the 2022 racing season.

The awards banquet will be held Jan. 28 in the community building on the grounds of the Jennings County 4-H Fairgrounds.

Corey Vanover was a multiple division winner, taking both the Clone 340 and Cline 380 classes of go-karts.

He won the 340 division over Chris Whiteaker, Colby Robinson, Chris Rose, Colby King, J.J. Stainbrook, Chad Lusby, Richard Palmer, Wesley Lack and Owen Barr.

Vanover took the 380 class over Robinson, Whiteaker, Ryan Turner, Stainbrook and Aaron Day. The Clone 420 class was taken by Seth Wilkerson over Kyle Wilkerson, Dylan Cowan and Jacobi Clark.

Kamden Fields won the Rookie division over Clay Thompson and Joseph Hiten. Macy Staton took the top honors in the Junior Champ class over Daniel Cloud. Sawyer Bohall was the top driver in the Youth Champ class over Mikey Payne, Kolin Alcorn, Chance Carr and Jase Salyers.

Zach Roell won the Junior 1 class of karts over Jake Hudak, Maverick Brison, Lynx Lawson, Brooklyn Summers and Connor Perry. The Junior 2 class was taken by Jake Roell over Jacob Chadd, Mason Baylor and Emalie Smith. Ricky Bernard was the top driver in the Junior 3 class over Blake Robertson, Keith Sinkhorn, Kenzie Perry, Joseph Gray and Matthew Baylor.

The Senior Champ division saw Robert Doyle winning the class over Cody Bower and Ricky Bernard. The SBO division was won by Leroy Blevins over Mike Payne. Blevins also won the RWYB class over Doug Perry. The Flatheads division went to Daniel Burton over Troy Neal. Richard Frazee won the Pred class over Troy Cowan, Raymond Howard, Chris Lange and Caden Rose.

Lawrenceburg crowns champs

Lawrenceburg Speedway has announced its 2022 champions.

Justin Owen won the sprint car title over Joss Moffatt, Sterling Cling, Garrett Abrams and Ryan Barr. Completing the top 10 drivers were Michael Fischesser, Saban Bibent, Nick Bilbee, J.J. Hughes and Max Adams.

Matt Hamilton captured the open wheel modified championship over Jeffrey Jessup, David Spille, Gage Cook and Scott Kincaid. Completing the top 10 were Tyler McGhee, Joe Smith, Kyle Schornick, Cory Skipton and Alan Ketcham.

Danny Eichler won the pure stock track title over Will Hayes, Joel Andrews, Corebin McRoberts and Elijah McRoberts.

Cordell Moore was the top driver this year in the hornet division. Alex West was second in points, followed by Jesse Ramirez, Landon Ramirez and Ryan Paciocco. The rest of the top 10 were Gary Snyder, Lan Anderson, Billie Moore, Bobbo Smith and Nate Byrd.

This week in racing history

From 60 years ago, the Columbus Kart Club named its champions for the 1962 racing season with Jim Devening, Bob Baker, Mike Devening and Mike Chambers taking the top spots in their respective divisions.

The track champions for the 1982 season at Brownstown were Ray Godsey (late models) and Darrell Hunter (modified street stock).

From 40 years ago, Lawrenceburg Speedway announced its champions for the 1982 season, and they were Greg Staab (sprints) and Gary Herbert (late models).

Also, Twin Cities Speedway announced its track champions for the 1982 season with Steve Boley (limited late models) and Clyde James (street stocks) winning the title in their respective divisions.

From 30 years ago, Bloomington Speedway named its track champions for the 1992 racing season. Todd Shields (sprint cars), Scott Patman (street stocks) and Tim Fulford (pure stocks) were each crowned division champions.

Also from the 1992 season at Tri-State Speedway, Mark Cummins won the sprint car championship, and Rick Carneal grabbed the late model crown.

From 30 years ago, the Twin Cities Raceway Park champions were Don O’Neal (later models), Tim Clark (street stocks), Merrill Downey (modifieds) and Mark Bruce (bombers).

James Essex writes a motorsports notebook for The Tribune. Send comments to [email protected]