Thumbs up for Nov. 18


Thumbs up to all of the men and women of this country who have made the sacrifices necessary to keep us all free. There were plenty of services on Veterans Day and the days surrounding it in Jackson County to recognize those who made the sacrifices, but thanking our country’s veterans should be something that’s done every day.

Scholars rewarded

Thumbs up to the three former Jackson County 4-H members who recently were honored with 4-H Accomplishment Scholarships. They are Abigail Stuckwisch, 2022 Premier Leadership Scholarship, sponsored by Indiana State Fair Commission; Hannah Kerkhof, 2022 Civic Engagement Scholarship, sponsored by Ceres Solution Cooperative; and Valeria Ramirez, Special Merit Scholarship, sponsored by Elanco Animal Health & The Organization of Latinos and Hispanics at Elanco.

All-state, all-star

Thumbs up to Seymour’s Olivia Fish for being selected to the all-state volleyball team and then earning a spot on the 3A/4A South All-Star team. A related thumbs up to Fish for earning academic all-state gold recognition along with Brownstown Central’s Kalee Borden, Trinity Lutheran’s Bailey Tabeling and Seymour’s Addi Lemon and Cali Cummings. Crothersville’s Pearl Shirley, who was awarded academic all-state silver recognition, also earns a thumbs up.

Heisman winners

Thumbs up to the three local high school seniors who are among the 2022 school winners for the Heisman High School Scholarship. Joshua Rennekamp and Ekaterina Cox are the winners for Seymour High School, and Carson Darlage is the school winner for Brownstown Central High School. The Heisman Memorial Trophy is annually awarded to the most outstanding college football player in the nation. The Heisman High School Scholarship extends the Heisman prestige to the nation’s most esteemed high school seniors by recognizing and rewarding outstanding scholar-athletes who understand the most important victories not only happen on the field but in their schools and communities.

Flying high

Thumbs to Alex Sturgill for recently earning the Boy Scouts of America’s highest rank. Sturgill came up with a project in 2019, stayed devoted even through the COVID-19 pandemic and recently went through his court of honor, officially being named an Eagle Scout. His project involved building six wooden shelving units for I Care Ministries Food Pantry, which operates out of Seymour Harvest Church.

Courteous students

Thumbs up to the Brownstown Central Middle School first trimester Courtesy Award winners. They are Charlie Blair, Brenton Penrose, Abbie Watson, Eli Reinhart, Tony De Leon Montes, Isaac Hampton, Braydon Grider, Mia Marin, Eulah Beavers, Mackenzie Drake and Dimetra Garner.