Nine Owls earn HHC honors

The Hoosier Hills Conference released its football all-conference teams earlier this week, and Seymour had nine players make the list.

Earning first team all-conference for the Owls were Cory Robinson, Bret Perry, Jack Pennington, Evan Smith, Mark Henson and Treyton McCormick.

Earning HHC honorable mention were Kyle Hileman, Josh Rennekamp and Mikey Wright.

Robinson played along the offensive and defensive lines for the Owls. Henson, McCormick and Wright were all in the secondary and helped the Owls create multiple turnovers this season, whether it was interceptions or forced fumbles, and Smith was the Owls’ leading tackler this fall.

Perry was Seymour’s starting quarterback, finishing the year with 1,930 passing yards and 296 rushing yards. He had 15 passing TDs to just two interceptions, and he also had six rushing TDs.

Pennington led the team in receiving with 712 yards and seven TDs. Hileman had 591 receiving yards and four TDs, and Rennekamp had 348 receiving yards and two TDs.

Seymour finished 6-4 this season and 5-1 in the conference.

With Seymour’s 49-7 victory over New Albany on Oct. 7, the Owls clinched a share of the HHC title for the first time since 2001. Their only conference loss came to Columbus East on Sept. 2, and after that, Seymour rattled off five-straight victories.

They were exciting wins, too. The Owls had come-from-behind wins, scoring a go-ahead touchdown in the final 2 minutes, against Jeffersonville (31-28), Floyd Central (22-15), Brownstown Central (28-24) and Jennings County (21-14).