Thumbs up for Sept. 24

Engaging experience

Thumbs up to the second-graders at Brownstown Elementary School, who recently raised $610.44 by selling water bottles and flavor packets to benefit the Humane Society of Jackson County. The money will go toward veterinary care, food and treats for the dogs and cats at the Seymour shelter. The fundraiser stemmed from Brownstown Central Community School Corp. teachers receiving project-based learning training over the summer. PBL is an instructional method that encourages students to learn and apply knowledge and skills through an engaging experience.

Lending a hand

Thumbs up to everyone who participated in The Alley’s 10th Thousand Ten Project on Saturday in Seymour. Twenty-two families received assistance through the program, which involves teams of 10. Each team member was asked to bring $10, and each team was assigned a family to assist, went to their home and used the money to provide them with what they needed the most.

Centenarian celebrates

Thumbs up to Ruth Gossman, who recently celebrated her 101st birthday. Gossman, who now lives with her son in Bloomington, was raised in Crothersville.

Braves of the Month

Thumbs up to the three Brownstown Central Community School Corp. Students of the Month. The trio are Brownstown Elementary School second-grader Hollyn Sterling, Brownstown Central Middle School eighth-grader Finley Wheeler and Brownstown Central High School sophomore Megan VonDielingen. Sterling was named Little Brave of the Month for respect for the second time in a row, while it also was the second time Wheeler has been named Student of the Month. The other time was in sixth grade when she was named the responsibility winner. The three received certificates for the honor, and their principals shared comments about them during the board of school trustees meeting Sept. 14.

Celebrating success

Thumbs up to this year’s Jackson County Chamber of Commerce award winners. The list includes Sasha Norman, who received the Young Professional of the Year award, and Eddie Murphy, who received the Spirit of the Chamber award. Other award winners were Linda Hume, Elementary School Teacher of the Year; Nathan Owen, Middle School Teacher of the Year; Cathy Reasoner, High School Teacher of the Year; Pewter Hall, Business Hall of Fame (small business); Dennis and Blish CPA Group (medium business); and Rumpke of Indiana (large business).