Crothersville school board members sworn in

Staff Reports


Two men have officially joined the Crothersville Community School Corp. board of school trustees.

During a meeting Monday night in the central administration building, Chad Ord and John Riley took turns placing their left hand on a Bible and raising their right hand while being sworn in.

[sc:text-divider text-divider-title=”Story continues below gallery” ]

This was their first meeting of a four year-term.

In the Nov. 3 general election, Ord defeated Jerad Sporleder 800-318 for the District 1 seat, while Riley received 1,003 votes but was unopposed for the District 4 seat.

Ord replaces B.J. McLain, while Riley takes the place of Dale Schmelzle. Neither McLain nor Schmelzle chose to seek reelection.

Schmelzle was the board’s president, so a new leader had to be appointed during Monday’s meeting as the board organized for 2021.

Linda Luedeman was unanimously selected as president, while Tiffany Reynolds is now vice president, and Jaime Land is secretary. Also, Ord was selected as the board’s legislative liaison.