Howe Motorsports wins for first time in four years

Titus Roberts put the Columbus-based Jim Howe Motorsports LLC back into the winner’s circle for the first time since 2016 with a resounding, wire-to-wire win in the Kid Kart segment of the annual Goodland Grand Prix July 5.

Roberts and his Coca-Cola of Columbus/Marathon Quick Stops/A-1 Vending Service/German American Insurance/Roberts Properties/Morales Mexican Grocery/Luciana’s Mexican Restaurant/Special Dogs and More/XRM Racing/R and R Recovery Towing Service No. 62 started on the pole on the basis of his July 4 convincing heat race win.

Kenzie Eden, however, jumped Roberts at the drop of the green and led the way into turn eight before he wound up his Honda engine and set sail. He overtook Eden’s #28 machine crossing the start/finish line headed into turn one and never looked back, going wire-to-wire in the 10-lap race.

It was an outstanding effort by Roberts throughout the entire weekend to capture his first career karting feature. In fact, he had a clean sweep, posting fastest lap, winning the heat and feature and leading every lap of kid kart competition.

[sc:text-divider text-divider-title=”Story continues below gallery” ]

The win is Jim Howe Motorsports’ first in four years when JHM superstar Daniel Pearcy won the Mel Kenyon Classic at Lebanon in the famed JHM kartKarma. Roberts, who turned 8 July 6, is the son of Greg and Alisha Roberts. He is the grandson of Rick and Gail Wilson of Hope, Vicky Fields of Seymour, Mike Fields of Scottsburg and Kenneth Roberts.

Howe and the team take a one-week break to rest and regroup after this four-week stretch of racing.

Next up is a club race at the historic Whiteland Raceway Park July 17, followed by SIRA No. 39’s appearance at the famed eight-turn, half-mile WRP road course the following night, July 18.

Erb victorious at Brownstown

Tyler Erb passed Bobby Pierce with four laps to go to win the Hoosier Dirt Classic on July 8 at Brownstown Speedway.

It was the opener for the 2020 Summernationals tour. Defending race winner Mike Marlar finished third, followed by Allen Weisser and Kyle Bronson.

Mike McKinney won the modified feature over Nick Hoffman, Ryan Thomas, Will Krup and Jacoby Hines. Jamey Wilson became the fifth different winner in five super stock features this year, taking the main event. Trey Chastain was second, followed by Matt Boknecht, Tucker Chastain and Steve Hollars.

Brownstown will be back in action tonight with a regular program of pro late models, modifieds, super stocks, pure stocks and hornets. For information, visit

Gilpin wins again at Brownstown

Devin Gilpin of Columbus led wire to wire to win the Born Free 40 on July 4 at Brownstown Speedway.

Gilpin, a third-generation racer, earned $5,500 for the win. He drives for his grandfather, Don Fleetwood of Brownstown. Nick Hoffman of Mooresville, North Carolina, finished second, followed by Kent Robinson of Bloomington, Greg Johnson of Bedford and David Webb of Nicholasville, Kentucky.

Jacoby Hines of Trafalgar became the fifth different winner in five modified feature events in 2020 at Brownstown, taking the main event. Jordan Wever led a trio of Bloomington drivers across the line, as he took second place over Brayden Watson and John DeMoss. Knoxville, Tennessee, visitor Jeff Hamby took fifth at the checkers.

Tucker Chastain of Bedford scored his first feature win of the season to become the fourth different winner in four super stock feature races. Derek Clegg of Nabb, Matt Boknecht of Seymour, Jamey Wilson of Seymour and Bryce Shidler of Crawfordsville.

Dusten Carr of Underwood took his second win of the season at Brownstown, winning the pure stock feature over Dalton Fleenor of Salem, Keaton Streeval of Edinburgh, Tommy Fleenor of Salem and Mickey Hines of Scipio.

Aaron Seay of Jeffersonville won the crown vics division main event over Brandon Cranmer of Jeffersonville, Eric Lewis of Corydon, J.D. Roberts of Seymour and Adam Grimsley of New Albany.

Stremme wins Lawrenceburg mod special

Former NASCAR driver David Stremme won the Merrill Downey Memorial for modifieds July 4 at Lawrenceburg Speedway.

Ron Davis finished second, followed by Peyton Harlow, Ricky Arms and Kyle Schornick.

Josh Rice outdueled his brother, James, to win the late model feature. Columbus native Derek Fisher was third followed by Austyn Mills and Dustin Nobbe.

Former racer passes away

Ken “Hillbilly” Ogle passed away July 3. He was 83.

An Alabama native, Ogle moved to Columbus in 1956 and started his racing career in 1959 at Columbus Speedway, which was known as “The Hole.” He raced until 1974 before retiring from driving. Ogle was the 1967 track champion at Twin Cities Speedway in Vernon.

After retiring from driving, he worked at Brownstown Speedway for 18 years operating the water truck and providing wrecker service. He was a member of both the Brownstown and Twin Cities halls of fame.

For several years, Ogle drove the well-known 8-ball race car which was owned by Bill and Roger Barnes of Elizabethtown. The car was also driven by “Shorty” Barnes, Bud Seymour, Larry Exner and Gary Herbert.

This week in racing history

From 50 years ago tonight at Brownstown Speedway, Don Hobbs won the feature race over Pete Willoughby, Jim Curry, Teako Ray and Floyd Gilbert.

Also, from 1970 at Bloomington Speedway, Larry Miller won the sprint car feature over Gene Henson, Cliff Cockrum, Bob Kinser and Chuck Amati.

From 50 years ago tonight, Allen Barr won the sprint car feature race at Paragon Speedway.

From 40 years ago at Brownstown, Kenny Simpson won the late model feature race over Doug Ault, Roger Absher, Barry Magers and Dusty Chapman. Ernie Barrow won the hobby stock feature over John Mull, Tony Godsey, Marvin Strong and Gregg Lyle. Ralph Hurt took the street stock feature over Mont Scaggs and Tony Franklin.

Also, at Lawrenceburg, Pat Patrick won the late model feature over Chuck McWilliams, Rich Shepherd, Dan Polking and Donnie Mattlin.

From 40 years ago this weekend, Rickey Hood won the sprint car feature at Haubstadt over Larry Goad and Jeff Swindell.

From 1980 at Putnamville, Ray Godsey won the late model feature over Kenny Simpson, Don Hobbs, Paul Crockett and Russ Petro.

From 30 years ago at Brownstown, Lee Fleetwood won the late model feature race over Steve Barnett, Ernie Barrow, Ira Bastin and Freddy Smith. Tom Seadler grabbed the street stock main over Scott Patman, Joe Johnson, Mike Fields and Earl Plessinger. Randy Petro won the bomber feature over Dennis Barber, Shannon Stewart, Rick Graham and Jay Deckard.

Also, from 1990 at Haubstadt, Larry Bland won the sprint car feature over Kevin Briscoe, Mark Cummins, Eric Davis and Mike Thurman.

From 20 years ago, Jason Setser won the late model feature at Brownstown over James Huff, C.J. Rayburn, Kevin Claycomb and Dan Sturgeon. Lee Hobbs won the modified feature over Tim Eddelman, Nelson Gingery, Brady Short and A.J. Flick. Steven Godsey took the bomber feature over Matt Cummings, Robert Walters, Darrell Burton and Jim Ruddick.

No posts to display