Crothersville winter athletes honored via video

The Crothersville Junior-Senior High School winter athletes couldn’t gather in-person for an awards ceremony because of school being closed due to the COVID-19 pandemic, so officials came up with the next-best way to honor them.

A video was created showing individual pictures of the trophy winners holding their awards and listing their name and awards won. It’s posted on the school’s Facebook page,

For varsity boys basketball, Cable Spall won the free throw, 3-point and assist awards and also received all-Southern Athletic Conference honors.

Josh Thomas was the other all-SAC team member for the Crothersville boys, and he also won the rebound and mental attitude awards.

Carson Farmer also received the mental attitude award, while Jayden Walls and Kaedon Bright each won the free throw award, and Quinten Keasler was presented the coaches award.

For the junior varsity boys team, Zach Helt won the rebound and assist awards.

The varsity team finished the season with a 14-10 record. The Tigers defeated Edinburgh and West Washington to win the Class A Sectional 62 at Edinburgh High School. They made history by winning the school’s first boys sectional title in its 105 years in the Indiana High School Athletic Association.

They were set to play top-ranked Barr-Reeve in the Loogootee Regional on March 14, but the COVID-19 pandemic forced the cancellation of the state tournament series.

For the varsity girls basketball team, Makinzee Isley was presented the rebound, free throw and 3-point awards, Addy Cole received the rebound and mental attitude awards and was named all-SAC, Rebekah Cook won the rebound and coaches awards and Makayla Helt won the assist award.

The JV girls winners were Zoe Spangler for free throws, Kennadi Lakins for assists and Tiessa Stevens for rebounds.

The varsity team finished with an 11-12 record.

The cheerleading squad also was recognized. Cami Keasler and Makayla Helt both received the Paula Joy Sweany Award, and Keasler also was named best all-around. For mental attitude, Madison Hunnicutt was the winner for the varsity squad, and Shea Reynolds won for the JV team.

For junior high boys basketball, Beau Napier won the assist and free throw awards and Corey Kelshaw won the rebound award for the seventh grade team, while Elijah Plasse received the rebound and free throw awards and Lucas Hilton earned the assist award for eighth grade.

For junior high girls basketball, Laekon Colwell received the mental attitude award.

Finally, for junior high cheerleading, Mattyline Deaton was named best all-around.