Thumbs-Up, Thumbs-Down – May 17

Best in the state

Thumbs-up to Trinity Lutheran High School’s interdisciplinary team, which finished first in Class 4 in the Indiana Academic Super Bowl state finals May 4 at Purdue University’s Loeb Playhouse. Members of the team are Jerry Jiang, Simeon Bauman, Hannah Kerkhof, Josiah Probst, Nathaniel Bauman, Addison Bumbleburg and Erin Enzinger.

Extraordinary nurses

Thumbs-up to Schneck Medical Center nurses Belinda Bowman, Kaylee Massey, Romy Trueblood and Heidi Wheatley, who recently became the Seymour hospital’s first DAISY Award for Extraordinary Nurses winners.


Thumbs-up to Brownstown Central High School senior Claire Poulton who recently was named one of 40 Indiana Academic All-Stars by the Indiana Association of School Principals. Poulton is Brownstown’s sixth Indiana Academic All-Star since 1996 and the first since 2012.

Youths of the Month

Another thumbs-up goes to Poulton, who was named Youth of the Month for February by the Brownstown Exchange Club, and senior classmate Robbie Branaman, who was named Youth of the Month for March by the club.

Conference champs

Thumbs-up to Seymour’s softball team for capturing the school’s first Hoosier Hills Conference title by finishing with a 7-0 record. Members of the team include seniors Rachel Kaufman, Paige Kleber and Emma Ramp, juniors Alyna Alvarado, Jozie Nicholson, Grace Rennekamp, Carlee Robinson, Kate Snook and Sophia Stahl, sophomores Stephanni Kleber, Grace Meyer, Ami Nishiwaki, Alyssa Perry, Camryn Reichenbacker, Tori Schapker and Mackenzie Whetstine, and freshmen Chloe Mellencamp, Matte Nicholson, Camryn Sterling, Kendrick Sterling, Sydney Stewart, Katie Burton, Jayla Gambrel and Stevie Sedam.

Additional thumbs-up to all of the county track and field athletes who recently won conference championships in individual events. That list includes Brownstown Central senior Brooklyn Snodgrass in the 100-meter dash; the Braves’ 400-meter relay team of Emma Winks, Kylee Wischmeier, Keeli Darlage and Snodgrass; junior Ashley Schroer, who won the shot put; and senior Caleb Bollinger, who finished first in the pole vault. Seymour’s Ashton Chase also won the 1,600- and 3,200-meter runs, while Crothersville’s Kaylyn Holman won the 800-, 1,600- and 3,200-meter runs and was a member of the Tiger’s 3,200-meter relay team that finished first. Other members of that team were Grace Wilson, Piper Hensley and Makayla Helt.