It’s Election Day: Get out and vote

The Tribune Staff Reports

More than 500 Seymour registered voters took the opportunity to vote in the weeks leading up to today’s Indiana primary election.

If you weren’t one of them, you will have a harder time avoiding the campaign workers touting their candidate at your polling site.

And you also may encounter lines if the early turnout is indication.

[sc:text-divider text-divider-title=”Story continues below gallery” ]Click here to purchase photos from this gallery

You haven’t, however, missed out on one of the most exciting primaries in a dozen years as polling sites opened across the county at 6 a.m. today.

The polls will remain open through 6 p.m. to allow any of the 10,338 registered voters in the city to cast ballots for Democrat or Republican nominees for mayor and clerk-treasurer.

The mayoral ballot features three Democrats, Tyler Henkle, 28, James Michael “Mike” Kelly, 61, and Rexanne Ude, 62, and five Republicans, Bridey Jacobi, 43, Tom Joray, 59, Matt Nicholson, 41, Nathan Otte, 35, and Matt Rowe, 44.

The winners will square off in the Nov. 5 general election. In 2007, the primary ballot featured five Democrats and three Republicans, including Craig Luedeman, who became mayor. He is wrapping up his third term and has decided not to run again.

There also are primary races to replace Seymour Clerk-Treasurer Fred Lewis, who was first elected in 1991 and chose not to seek an eighth term.

Democrats vying for that job are Robin Ann Carpenter, 47, and Kristine Hackman, 63, and Republicans competing for that party’s nomination for that seat are Darrin Boas, 49, Dovie Stidham, 63, and Sarah Hodapp, 29.

Republicans also will pick nominees for the District 3 and District 4 Seymour City Council seats.

The District 3 race involves Joshua A. Dailey, 43, and Chad Hubbard, 36, while the District 4 race features Seth L. Davidson, 35, against incumbent James W. Rebber, 73.

Early voting in person at polling sites in Seymour and Brownstown ended at noon Monday. At that time, the number of people voting, including the 431 who voted in person, was 507 or 4.9% of the registered voters.

Voter registration clerk Deseree McKain-Haurez said there were two absentee ballots sent out by mail that had yet to be returned. Those voters have until noon today to return their ballot, so the number could grow to 509.

In the last city primary in 2015, just 3.82% or 271 of 7,100 registered voters cast ballots early, and the number wasn’t much higher in 2011 when 4.3% or 506 of 11,196 registered voters cast ballots. There were no contested races for mayor or clerk-treasurer either of those years.

Jackson County Clerk Melissa Hayes said the votes will be counted at her office inside the Jackson County Judicial Center, 109 S. Sugar St., Brownstown. The lobby of the center will be open to the public at 6 p.m.

[sc:pullout-title pullout-title=”At a glance” ][sc:pullout-text-begin]

Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles license branches will be open from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. today to issue identification cards and driver’s licenses that may be used for identification at a polling place.

The license branches only will process new, amended or replacement ID cards, driver’s licenses and learner permits.

The BMV provides free state-issued ID cards for voting purposes to any unlicensed Hoosier as long as he or she can provide proper documentation and will be at least 18 years of age on or before the next general or municipal election.

A complete list of documents required to obtain a new state ID card or driver’s license may be found at

[sc:pullout-text-end][sc:pullout-title pullout-title=”If you go” ][sc:pullout-text-begin]

Polling locations (registered voters)

Calvary Baptist Church, 1202 N. Ewing St., Jackson 1 East (1,273) and Seymour-Redding City (877)

The Point, 311 Myers St., Jackson 2 East (1,207) and Jackson 2 West (611)

American Legion Post 89, 414 W. Second St., Jackson 3 North (801) and Jackson 5 East (1,175)

First Baptist Church, 505 Community Drive, Jackson 4 North (1,416) and Jackson 5 North (1,243)

Zion Lutheran Church, 1501 Gaiser Drive, Jackson 3 South (1,012) and Jackson 4 South (903)

Anyone planning to vote in today’s primary election needs three things:

Be a registered voter. To confirm your registration, call the Jackson County Voter Registration Office at 812-358-6120 or visit

Have a valid government-issued identification with a photograph, and it must be current through Nov. 4, 2018 (the last general election). It can be a driver’s license, passport or any identification issued by the state or federal government.

Be a resident of Seymour.

[sc:pullout-text-end][sc:pullout-title pullout-title=”Past voter turnout” ][sc:pullout-text-begin]

Year;Voters;Registered voters;%