Tampico High School alumni gather for reunion

The Tampico High School reunion was April 6 at Pewter Hall in Brownstown. A total of 116 classmates, family and friends of the school were in attendance.

Alice Mae Elliott Woodhull gave the invocation for the evening meal.

Tampico Bobcats cheerleaders started the evening off with the singing of the school song.

A moment of silence was observed in memory of deceased classmates since the last reunion, including Frances Kuehn Reisenbichler, Donald Tatlock, Judy Hignite Street, Donna Temple Meadors, Phil Teipen, Gladys Otte Burchell, Marjorie Hawn Bajjalieh, Earl Wolka, Jean Bryan Montfort and Betty Lucas Bowling.

[sc:text-divider text-divider-title=”Story continues below gallery” ]

Stephen Cunningham was master of ceremonies for the evening. He introduced his mother, former teacher Earline Beldon Cunningham, who graduated in 1938 from Tampico High School and was a first grade teacher at Tampico. Several of her students were at the reunion.

Jon Robison, son of the late coach Robert L. Robison, talked about his dad’s coaching career at Tampico High School. Several of coach Robison’s players were in attendance.

Gene and Linda Robbins from Zionsville were in attendance. Gene’s father Elmer Robbins was principal at Tampico High School.

Everyone enjoyed visiting and looking at pictures of the Tampico School days.

Special recognition was given to the classes of 1949, 1959 and 1969.

Present from the Class of 1949 was Marcella Hackman Wischmeier. Attending from the Class of 1969 were Linda and Dave Wienhorst, William Kidd, Carol Philpot Crump, Opal Wessel Roark, Joyce Frazier Brasher, Stephen Klinge and Sandra Toppe Hackman. These students attended grade school at Tampico for one year or more before consolidation with Brownstown.

Others attending were Donald Sturgeon, David Sturgeon, Norma Lee Neukam, Curtis and Deborah Stahl, Opal and Ron Roark, Jean Stark, Kelso and Judith Wessel, Eugene and Sue Peters, Max and Judy Gambrel, Francis and Lavonda Elliott, Montie and Barbara Prince, Gary and Kathy Wehmiller, Carolyn Wolka, Beverly Jones, Gene and Linda Robbins, Cathy Mantz, Richard and Nina Hackman, Clarence and Patricia Stuckwisch, Doris Kleine-Ray, Melissa Kleine, Alice Hutcheson, Will and Linda Hackman, Stephen and Debra Klinge, Michael and Audra Deaton, Wayne and Alice Woodhull, Pauline Sover, Jane Allen, Buck and Charlotte Keith, Tabitha Ashcraft, David and Sandra Hackman, Janet Kelsch, Jon and Peggy Robison, Carolyn Jones, Velma Nierman, Barbara Huffman, Carol Crump, Cindy Gambrel and Erich and Kathy Blevins.

Also, Wilbur Hoevener, Carol Otte, William and Marlis Kidd, Harriett Hickerson, Joyce Brasher, Jimmie and Maribell Hickerson, Marcella Wischmeier, Danielle Murphy, Gary Cunningham, Woody and Sally VonDielingen, Bart and Donna Maxie, Ivan Wessel, Doris Frey, Marlene Schuerman, Madeline Rothert, Dave and Linda Weinhorst, Eugene Bobb, Bonnie Robinson, Gary and Becky Allen, Doris Frost, Brenda Wright, Wilma Benter, Elberta Darlage, Bill Wessel, Duane Melloncamp, Robert and Violet Wischmeier, Kenneth Reynolds, Donald and Jackie Hoevener, Robert Tatlock, Richard Tormoehlen, Roland and Anita Sturgeon, Joan Hoevener, Janette Elliott, Joan Bode, Ron Wischmeier, Joyce Wright and Lucy Duvall.

If you didn’t attend this year’s reunion, make plans for next year. The planning committee consisted of Bill Wessel, Elberta Darlage, Wilma Benter and Donna Maxie.