Crothersville holds winter sports awards program


Crothersville High School conducted its 2018-19 winter sports awards program Tuesday in the school’s cafetorium.

The Tigers’ girls basketball team finished 12-12 under head coach Kevin Hensley, who recently wrapped up his 10th year of leading the program.

Piper Hensley took home the 3-point and free throw awards on the night.

Outside of her trophies, the senior was selected to the All-Southern Athletic Conference first team and Hoosier Basketball Coaches Association’s All-District 4 team and was an Indiana Basketball Coaches Association Academic All-State honorable mention recipient.

Hensley leaves Crothersville as the No. 4 all-time leading scorer (1,120 points) and holds school records for 3s in a game (nine), season (75) and career (240).

Fellow senior Maddie Riley also made the All-SAC team, and she took home the assists award. Riley finished her career second all-time in assists (272).

A trio of juniors took the other three honors, as Makayla Helt was given the coaches award, Bekah Cook received the mental attitude award and Makinzee Isley earned the rebounding award.

Tiessa Stevens (rebounds), Kennadi Lakins (assists) and Isabell Lewis (free throws) were the recipients of the junior varsity awards.

Riley, Hensley, Tayler Brewer and manager Samantha Rose all graduate from the Tigers’ program.

Crothersville’s boys varsity basketball team finished 15-11 under seventh-year coach Greg Kilgore.

It was the second-straight season the Tigers finished with 15 wins. The Tigers hadn’t had back-to-back winning seasons since 1985.

The Tigers were runners-up in the sectional and had multiple sectional game wins for the first time since 1982.

Junior Josh Thomas was presented the 3-point award and shared the rebounding and mental attitude awards with senior Logan Brewer. Both players were named All-SAC.

Brewer set the school’s single-season scoring record by tallying 515 points.

Sophomore Cable Spall received the free throw award, and senior Lane Wienhorst was presented the assists award. Wienhorst and Spall shared the coaches award.

Brewer, Wienhorst, Will Amick and Ethan Deaton all graduate from this year’s team.

Zach Helt (rebounds) and Josh West (assists and free throws) took home the JV awards.

Varsity cheerleading awards went to Grace Monroe (mental attitude) and Cami Keasler (best all-around).

[sc:pullout-title pullout-title=”Middle school awards” ][sc:pullout-text-begin]

Crothersville’s middle school programs also presented awards during Tuesday’s program.


Mental attitude award: Maddie Deaton

Best All-Around Cheerleader: Deaton

Girls basketball

Red team

FT: Emma Mains

Defense: Jamie Caudill

Rebounds: Caudill

White team

FT: Trina McDonald

Defense: Hali Burton

Rebounds: Burton

Boys basketball

Red team

FT: Austin Cook

Assists: Lucas Hilton

Rebounds: Damion Bowman

White team

FT: Beau Napier

Assists: Scott Blanton

Rebounds: Elijah Plasse