Seymour bowlers wrap up season

The Tribune Staff Report

The 2017-18 Seymour middle and high school bowling teams recently concluded their seasons with a dessert and awards banquet.

The first award was in recognition of the 2017 middle school regional championship team, which was presented to Ragan Mathis, Trevor Lawson, Luke Lanam and J.C. Handloser.

The 2018 middle school team of Mathis, Lanam, Micah Maschino, Kenny Kelly and Lilly Kelly finished in third place May 12.

Mathis received an ambassador award for being the sixth-grade girls regional singles champion. She went on to finish in fifth place at the state finals May 19.

The first high school award went to a group of mostly eighth-graders in recognition of winning the South Central Indiana Conference junior varsity team tournament. This team included Jessica Shunney, Maschino, Lilly Kelly, Lanam and Kenny Kelly.

Most improved awards went to Brooklyn Sewell, Tori Gray, Shunney, Trey Morris and Tyrell Duncan.

This year’s team spirit award winners were Madelynn Burns, Andre Sides and Morris.

“Team spirit is always important and can manifest in many ways, from always having a great attitude, constantly working hard or just pure enjoyment of the game,” Seymour coach Shannon Kelly said.

Kelly and his staff then recognized the boys varsity team.

“This team battled hard at every meet. Unfortunately, they were on the losing end of several very close games,” Kelly said. “In spite of losing these close games, they led the conference in total pins, high game and high series.”

The varsity boys record was 11-5, finishing in second place in the Southern Division, third place overall in the conference and peaking to capture sectional runner-up.

This team included Ty Gray, Cody Estes, Sides, Lawson, Morris, Trace Cooper and Colton Hayes.

The ambassador award was in recognition of individual success in the state tournament. The ambassador award winners for this season as a regional qualifier were Gray and Cooper.

The ambassador award winner as a semistate qualifier was Estes.

This year’s most valuable awards for the JV team went to Maschino and Lanam. The varsity most valuable awards were presented to Morgan Boas, Gray, Sewell and Lawson.

“Leadership is shown in many ways, from coolness under pressure at a meet to helping others figure out a problem in practice to leading through past experience and finally, consistency,” Kelly said.

This year’s sportsmanship award winner was Gray.

The final award went to Estes.

“The Owl Bowler of the Year is an award that we give to celebrate a season of hard work, improvement and dedication to the team,” Kelly said.