Thumbs-Up, Thumbs-Down – May 25

Safe driving specialist

Thumbs-up to Indiana State Police Master Trooper Kevin Riordan with the Versailles District who recently received an award for having 1 million safe driving miles during his career. Riordan, a 1974 graduate of Seymour High School, became a state trooper in 1984 after spending three years as a weigh master with the state police.

National champs

Thumbs-up to senior Paxton DeHaven of Seymour for helping the University of Indianapolis win the school’s second women’s NCAA Division II golf championship in the past four years. DeHaven capped her career with a seventh-place showing at the four-day tournament at Bay Oaks Country Club in Houston, Texas. The Greyhounds also won when DeHaven was a freshman.

Moving on

Thumbs-up to the seven students of Sandy Creek Christian Academy in Seymour who graduated May 19 and the combined 526 seniors who will be graduating from Medora and Crothersville high schools this evening, Brownstown Central and Trinity Lutheran high schools Saturday and Seymour High School on June 3.

Headed for the bench

Thumbs-up to Jackson County Prosecutor AmyMarie Travis, who recently was picked by Gov. Eric Holcomb to be judge of Jackson Superior Court I. Travis, the first female judge in the county’s 202-year history, is replacing Bruce Markel, who is retiring May 31 after serving 13 years on the bench.

Special collectors

Thumbs-up to the students and staff at Seymour Middle School for collecting 6,041 items during the spring clothing drive. The items were delivered to the Jackson County Clothing Center with the goal of helping those in need of clothing items throughout Jackson County. A special thumbs-up those students collecting more than 100 items during the drive: Rylin Huddleston, Catherine Catterton, Morgan Esteb, Ebelin Barhone, Rumanda Day, Madelyn Busby, Samantha Foster, Hiley Obermeyer, Zach Croquart, Donovyn Thomas, Doug Juarez Villatero, Mady Downey and Hayley Harpe. For the 2017-18 school year, 9,794 clothing items were collected by students and staff.