Holcomb adds 4 more counties to disaster list


Gov. Eric J. Holcomb added four counties, including Jackson, on Friday to the disaster emergency he declared Feb. 24, and 27 in response to widespread flooding and infrastructure damage caused by sustained heavy rainfall.

The governor signed a new executive order Friday that included Jackson, Kosciusko, Newton and Porter counties — in addition to Harrison, Jasper, Ohio, Pulaski, Benton, Clark, Crawford, Floyd, Jefferson, Spencer, Warrick, Carroll, Dearborn, Elkhart, Fulton, Lake, Marshall, Perry, St. Joseph, Starke, Switzerland and White counties — making 26 total counties covered by this disaster emergency declaration so far.

The disaster declaration means the state Department of Homeland Security can take necessary actions to provide expanded emergency services and is a step the state is required to take to request assistance from the federal government.

The State Emergency Operations Center recently was activated and continues to maintain a statewide operating picture concerning the status of the ongoing flooding and respond to requests for assistance from local officials. The EOC has directly assisted counties by coordinating the delivery of more than 824,000 sandbags, two water pumps, heavy equipment and vehicles, labor crews, traffic control, UAV photography, and subject matter expertise on disaster response and recovery.

No posts to display