Election filings slow to a trickle

Filings continue to trickle in at the voter registration office in the Jackson County Clerk’s Office in the courthouse in Brownstown.

Incumbent Richard W. Poynter recently filed a declaration of candidacy for Jackson Circuit Court judge at the Indiana Election Commission, and Prosecutor AmyMarie Travis also made the same trip to Indianapolis to file for reelection.

There will be at least one state race on the primary ballot in Jackson County, as District 69 Rep. Jim Lucas, a Seymour Republican, is facing a challenge from not just one person but two.

One of them, Nancy Franke of Seymour, ran against Lucas in the primary election but didn’t prevail. The other challenger is Charles Johnson of Madison. Democrat Steve Schoettmer of Elizabethtown is running unopposed for the District 69 seat at this time.

Democrat Liz Watson of Bloomington has filed a declaration of candidacy for the Ninth District congressional seat, which is presently held by Republican Trey Hollingsworth of Jeffersonville.

Candidates wishing to file declarations of candidacy for public office have until noon Feb. 9.

U.S. Senate

Joe Donnelly (D)

Mike Braun (R)

Andrew Horning (R)

Mark Hurt (R)

Luke Messer (R)

Todd Rokita (R)

U.S. Representative — Ninth District

Liz Watson (D)

State Senate, District 43

Clyde A. “Chip” Perfect Jr. (R)

State Senate, District 45

Chris Garten (R)

State Representative, District 65

Chris D. May (R)

State Representative, District 69

Steve Schoettmer (D)

Nancy L. Franke (R)

Charles Johnson (R)

Jim Lucas (R)

Jackson County Clerk

Melissa Elkins Hayes (R)

Jackson County assessor

Katie Kaufman (R)

Jackson County Commissioners, District 3

Roger L. Bane (R)

Matt Reedy (R)

Jackson County Council, District 3

Brian H. Thompson (R)

Jackson County Recorder

Clifford L. Sommers (D)

Amanda Cunningham Lowery (R)

Jackson County Sheriff

Jeffrey Walters (D)

William V. “Bill” Abbott (R)

Rick Meyer (R)

Charlie Murphy (R)

Phil Nale (R)

Jackson Circuit Court Judge

Richard W. Poynter (R)

Jackson County Prosecutor

AmyMarie Travis (R)

Township boards


Jack R. Gillespie (R)

Grassy Fork

Janette Elliott (R)


Jack E. Gilbert (R)


Doyle Lyon (R)

Joe McDermid (R)


David “Dave” Merry (D)

Max Noblitt (D)


Alan Pollert (D)

Township trustees


Jennifer Saucerman Isaacs (R)

Grassy Fork

Parke Hackman (D)


Linda Auleman (R)

William “Bill” Marsh (R)


Conrad E. Calmer (D)


E. Scott Kovener (D)


Sharon Reedy (D)

[sc:pullout-title pullout-title=”At a glance” ][sc:pullout-text-begin]

The filing deadline for those seeking to be placed on the May 8 primary election ballot is noon Feb. 9 at the voter registration in the county clerk’s office at the Jackson County Courthouse in Brownstown.