Two from county receive educators scholarship

The 200 Next Generation Hoosier Educators scholarship recipients have been selected following a competitive selection process based on academic achievement, teacher nomination and an in-person interview.

Two of the recipients are from Jackson County: Brittany Isaacs, a Brownstown Central High School graduate attending the University of Indianapolis, and Victoria Mahoney, a Seymour High School graduate attending Indiana State University, according to a news release from the Indiana Commission of Higher Education.

The scholarship pays up to $7,500 annually (up to $30,000 total) for students who commit to teaching in Indiana for five years after college graduation.

Teresa Lubbers, the Indiana commissioner for higher education, said the selection committee was encouraged by the high-quality applicants and knows these future teachers will have a positive impact in Indiana classrooms.

A total of 642 students applied for the Next Generation Hoosier Educators scholarship with applications coming from 274 high schools in 85 of the Indiana’s 92 counties. About two-thirds of applicants were Indiana high school seniors, with the remainder comprised of current college students.