Morton-Oathout 70th Reunion

The 70th annual reunion of Andrew Morton and Flora Dell Oathout was June 5 at the Brownstown Park shelter house, with 34 members present.

Tom Ritz gave the invocation for the pitch-in dinner.

A brief business meeting was conducted by Tim Marshall, president, following the dinner. It was voted to retain the present officers of Marshall; Gordon Surenkamp, vice president; and Bobbi Garland, secretary.

A roll call, naming the branch of the family each member was from, was taken with the Frank Oathout family having 17 members present; Ralph Oathout family having eight members present; Walter Oathout family having seven members present; and Roland Oathout family having two members present.

A tribute was given for Dennis Wayne Oathout. He served his country during the Vietnam War as a Green Beret. He was a hero. He passed away May 31, and the members voted to send a memorial.

Present were Dorothy J. McDonald, John and Kathy Schafstall, Harold and Bobbi Garland, Barry and Angie Guinn, Herrell and Judy Acton, Angie Fimreite, Pat Forgey, Cathleen Surenkamp, Gordon Surenkamp, Emily Mowery, Jeanette Mowery, John E. Oathout, Shannon Lamping, Sandra and Mike Warren, Allison Warren, Peggy and Gary Carmichael, Larry and Sue Isaacs, Greg Isaacs, Junior Guinn, Barb and Tom Ritz, Travis and Wendy Ritz, Hadlee Ritz, Tim and Johnnie Marshall and Tyson Marshall.

Next year, the Oathout family reunion will be June 4 at Honeytown Christian Church. All family and friends are welcome.