Driven in dirt

For The Tribune


ith 167 entries on hand, in six racing divisions, Brownstown Speedway resembled as a dirt racing fan’s paradise on Saturday evening.

Brownstown played host to the 4th annual Paul Crockett Memorial as part of the Grand Champion Fair Race, with “EZ Lift” Super Late Models, UMP Modifieds, “P3 Graphix” Indiana Pro Late Models, “Woolston Automotive” Super Stocks, “Staff Management” Pure Stocks, and “Pewter Hall” Hornets all in attendance.

[sc:text-divider text-divider-title=”Story continues below gallery” ]

Madison native Cody Mahoney became the first repeat winner of the “Paul Crockett Memorial,” in the Super Late Modles, as he dominated the event: leading flag to flag to take home the $2,500 payday.

Kentucky’s Tanner English was fastest qualifier overall in the “EZ Lift” Super Late Models, clocking in with a time of 13.350 around the ¼ mile dirt oval.

He was quickest in his group with a time of 13.522 followed by Steve Barnett who clocked in at 13.944, making him quickest in his group.

Edinburgh’s Joe Godsey out-dueled English in the first heat race of the evening.

Mahoney and Steven Godsey also picked up their respected heat race wins.

Joe Godsey and Mahoney made up the front row of the starting lineup for the 25 laps event.

Mahoney jumped out to the early lead in his Bowman Motorsports entry and never looked back and went on to pick up the victory.

“All-in-all a good night, we’ve just been working hard back at the shop and I can’t thank everybody enough, this is great” Mahoney said in Victory Lane.

After a quick salute to the spectators in the stands, Mahoney was quick to show his appreciation.

“We’ve got to understand how important the fans are,” Mahoney said. “If you guys quit coming, we quit racing.”

Chad Stapleton charged from his seventh place starting position to finish second, followed by English, Joe Godsey, and Alan Magner. Seymour’s Adam Bowman finished sixth after starting 13th.

Jeremy Hines, also of Seymour, started 19th and made his way through the field to finish eighth.

The UMP Modified feature event proved to be the better race of the night as Trafalgar’s Jacoby Hines and North Vernon’s Jeremy Owens battled side-by-side for the entire event.

Hines and Owens swapped the lead numerous times throughout the event, but it was Hines who was able to negotiate the final corner with more momentum — going on to pick up his first win of the season at Brownstown.

Hudson O’Neal, of Martinsville, continued his dominance in the “P3 Graphix” Indiana Pro Late Model division by picking up another feature win.

Justin Shaw finished second behind O’Neal, followed by Matt Bex, Steve Barnett, and Chad Stapleton.

Loogootee’s Josh Divine picked up his first ever win at Brownstown in the “Woolston Automotive” Super Stock division.

Divine held off several late race attempts from Seymour’s Jamey Wilson, who currently leads the points standings.

Tim Schumpe of Vallonia came home in third position, followed by David Brewer and Jack Frye.

Salem’s Tim Rivers claimed his fourth win in a row in the “Staff Management” Pure Stock division over North Vernon’s Kevin Applegate.

Seymour native Jim Ruddick charged his entry to a third place finish after starting eleventh.

Wesley Napier, a New Washington native and current “Pewter Hall” Hornet division points leader, came home victorious in the Hornet feature over Seymour’s Donnie Modesty.

Brownstown Speedways next event is this Saturday night as the “Battle of the Bluegrass” Ultimate Super Late Model Series makes their second visit of the season.

Jeremy Hines is the current points leader for the series, and will be a favorite for the $3,000 to win event.

[sc:pullout-title pullout-title=”How they fared” ][sc:pullout-text-begin]

Official Results – Jackson County Grand Champion Fair Race / 4th Paul Crockett Memorial. July 30, 2016.

“EZ Lift” Super Late Models: Cody Mahoney, Chad Stapleton, Tanner English, Joe Godsey, Alan Magner, Adam Bowman, Steve Barnett, Jeremy Hines, Brandon Kinzer, Matt Bex, Jared Bailey, Austin Tunny, Greg Amick, Brad Barrow, Nathan Vawter, Shelby Miles, Dusty Chapman, Steve Godsey, Britan Godsey, Karlie Holt

UMP Modifieds: Jacoby Hines, Jeremy Owens, Stephan Schnapf, Earl Plessinger, Rick Gumm, Lee Hobbs, Jeff Deckard, Ernie Gingerich, Dennis Boknecht, Alan Bowling, Jarod Fleetwood, Jason Sims, Blake Davis, Marty O’Neal, Jerry Adams, Tad Cheek, Vernon Soeder, Sam Wray, Matt Boknecht, Brad Thompson

“P3 Graphix” Indian Pro Late Model: Hudson O’Neal, Justin Shaw, Matt Bex, Steve Barnett, Chad Stapleton, Brad Barrow, Tyler Cain, Shelby Miles, Austin Burns, Remington Gill, Skyller Lewis, Matt Patus, Chris Workman, Geraid Gault, Jordan Masters, Trent Low, Isaac Rainey, Tyson Banks, Raymond Humphrey, Marty O’Neal.

“Woolston Automotive” Super Stocks: Josh Divine, Jamey Wilson, Tim Schumpe, David Brewer, Jack Frye, Randy Petro, Greg Garrison, Tom Ault, Dave Shelton, Terrance Johnson, Kevin Jones, Jeff Wilson, Jeff Patterson, Jim Pfieffer, Butch Isaacs, Josh Turner, Troy Clark, Matt Terry, Craig Markel, Jason Hehman.

“Staff Management” Pure Stocks: Tim Rivers, Kevin Applegate, Jim Ruddick, Zachary Stalker, Derek Clegg, Josh Hayes, Mickey Hines, Charles Newby, Tory Routier, Ross Smith, Jeremy Huebner, Allie Eagin, April Walton, Troy Clark, Donnie Wilson, Clay Ellison, Jason Combs, Brian Sims, David Robinson, Jeff Lucas

“Pewter Hall” Hornets: Wesley Napier, Donnie Modesty, John Mayer Jr, Tony Napier, Jaden Mayhan, Lee Stephenson, Trent Adams, Darrell Sylvester, Todd Cain, Zach Burton, Brian Moore, Davey Waggoner, Dale Bright, Hunter Perry, Tony Napier Jr, Dale Grote, Michael Hayes, Kobe Derringer, JJ Pendygraft, Jacob Owens.