Filing period ends for fall races

Four Republicans running for countywide offices will not face any opposition from Democratic Party candidates in the Nov. 8 general election.

That’s because the deadline for the two major parties to fill any ballot vacancies created by the May 3 primary was noon June 30 and no Democrats filed for Jackson Superior Court II judge, surveyor, auditor and treasurer.

There is, however, still a week for independents to file declarations of candidacy for those seats and the contested races already on the ballot.

At this time, the four races with just Republican candidates are political newcomer Roger Hurt, who is running for treasurer, and three incumbents — Jackson Superior Court II Judge Bruce MacTavish of Seymour, surveyor Dan Blann of Brownstown and auditor Kathy Hohenstreiter of Seymour.

The six contested races in the general election are the three county council at-large seats, District 1 and District 2 commissioner seats and coroner.

The at-large council races will pit Democrats Andy Fountain of Brownstown, Kathy Schafstall of Seymour and Steve Ritter of Norman against Republican candidates Ann Cain of Seymour, Dave Hall of Norman and John Nolting of Brownstown.

Democrat Kurt Fenneberg, a political newcomer from Seymour, will face Republican Drew Markel of Seymour for the District 1 commissioner seat presently held by Republican Jerry Hounshel, who did not seek his party’s nomination in the primary.

The District 2 commissioner features two newcomers, Republican Bob Gillaspy and Democrat Bradley D. Smith, both of Seymour, and the race for coroner will feature Republican Mike Bobb and Democrat Andy Rumph, both of Seymour.

Roger Wheeler, a Democrat, is wrapping up his second term as coroner, and state law limits the coroner to two terms. Rumph served as coroner from 2000 to 2008 and has been a deputy coroner since that time.

On July 27, school board candidates for seats with Seymour Community Schools, Medora Community Schools and Crothersville Community Schools may begin filing at the clerk’s office at the courthouse in Brownstown. The filing period for school board seats ends Aug. 26.

[sc:pullout-title pullout-title=”At a glance” ][sc:pullout-text-begin]

For information about voter registration or the Nov. 8 general election, call 812-358-6120.