Clearspring conducts 64th reunion

The annual Clearspring School reunion was conducted Aug. 23 at Brownstown Elementary School with 91 people, including former teachers and coaches, in attendance.

President Darrell Branaman welcomed the group, and Vice President Wilma Wessel gave the invocation for the pitch-in dinner.

Special recognition was given to veterans present, and the Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

The meeting was called to order.

Secretary-treasurer Rose Wray read the minutes and gave the treasurer’s report.

The current officers were re-elected.

A candle was lit by Branaman as Jim Cooper and Dennis Campbell played soft music and Wessel read the memorial roll of 21 names of students and teachers who had passed away this past year.

Special recognition was given to the 1965 graduating class, which is celebrating its 50th year. Class members present were Sally Smith Brock, James Cooper, Steve Goen, Rita Murphy Hanner, Gladys Crowe Morgan, Mike Patton and Ronald Speer.

Past cheerleaders present who were present, Reva Goen Pearson, Linda Fleetwood Helmbrecht and Sue Curry Isaacs, led the group in the school song.

Baskets were then passed around for donations to cover expenses.

James Hanners, Frank Cummings and Larry Isaacs were recognized as past teachers and coaches.

Melvin Weddell, who graduated in 1942, received a potted plant for being the oldest present, and others winning door prizes were Ernest Estes, Steve Goen and Willie Hurd. Trudy Brown received the grand prize.

James Cooper, Dennis Campbell and Frank Fisher provided the music.

The meeting was adjourned with singing “God Be With You Until We Meet Again.”